New Mexico Watchman Legislative Report 2/1/2021

New Mexico State Legislature Report
55th Session
February 1, 2021

House Bill 7: Repeal Abortion Ban

House Bill 7 Repeal Abortion Ban    Current Location
First Committee                ˃ ˃ ˃          Second Committee            ˃ ˃ ˃          HOUSE FLOOR
Health & Human Services                House Judiciary Committee
DO PASS  (1/31/21)                             TBA

House Judiciary Committee Members

Gail Chasey, Chair  (505) 986-4411  gail@gailchasey.com
Micaela Lara Cadena  (505) 986-4210  micaela.cadena@nmlegis.gov 
Eliseo Lee Alcon  (505) 986-4416 eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov
Deborah A Armstrong (505) 986-4344  deborah.armstrong@nmlegis.gov
Zachary J. Cook (505) 986-4221 zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov
Brian Egolf (505) 986-4782 brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov
Damon Ely (505) 986-4243 damon.ely@nmlegis.gov
Georgene Louis (505) 986-4329 georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov
Matthew McQueen (505) 986-4423 matthew.mcqueen@nmlegis.gov
Greg Nibert (505) 986-4211 greg.nibert@nmlegis.gov
William “Bill” R Rehm (505) 986-4214  bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov
James G Townsend (505) 986-4757 townsend@pvtn.net

**********

House Bill 47: Assisted Suicide

House Bill 47 Assisted Suicide received a DO PASS from the House Health and Human Services Committee on Friday.  It currently before the House Judiciary Committee but has not been announced as scheduled.

                                                  Current Location
First Committee         ˃            Second Committee       ˃    HOUSE FLOOR|
Health & Human Services   Judiciary Committee          
DO PASS  (1/31/21)                 TBA

House Judiciary Committee Members

Gail Chasey, Chair  (505) 986-4411  gail@gailchasey.com
Micaela Lara Cadena  (505) 986-4210  micaela.cadena@nmlegis.gov 
Eliseo Lee Alcon  (505) 986-4416 eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov
Deborah A Armstrong (505) 986-4344  deborah.armstrong@nmlegis.gov
Zachary J. Cook (505) 986-4221 zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov
Brian Egolf (505) 986-4782 brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov
Damon Ely (505) 986-4243 damon.ely@nmlegis.gov
Georgene Louis (505) 986-4329 georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov
Matthew McQueen (505) 986-4423 matthew.mcqueen@nmlegis.gov
Greg Nibert (505) 986-4211 greg.nibert@nmlegis.gov
William “Bill” R Rehm (505) 986-4214  bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov
James G Townsend (505) 986-4757 townsend@pvtn.net

Senate Bill 10: Repeal Abortion Ban

Senate Bill 10  Repeal Abortion Ban    Current Location
First Committee         ˃ ˃ ˃                    Second Committee      ˃ ˃ ˃          SENATE FLOOR
Health & Public Affairs                          Sentate Judiciary Committee
DO PASS  (1/31/21)                                TBA

Senate Judiciary Committee

Joseph Cervantes  (505) 397-8820   joseph.cervantes@nmlegis.gov
Bill B. O’Neill   (505) 450-9263  oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com
Cliff R. Pirtle  (505) 986-4369  cliff.pirtle@nmlegis.gov
Gregory A. Baca  (505) 385-7303  greg.baca@nmlegis.gov
Katy M. Duhigg  (505) 397-8823  katy.duhigg@nmlegis.gov
Daniel A. Ivey-Soto  (505) 397-8830  daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov
Linda M. Lopez  (505) 397-8833  linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov
Mark Moores   (505) 986-4856  mark.moores@nmlegis.gov
Mimi Stewart  (505) 397-8853  mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov

Legislative Process

For a Bill to become law the usual process is after being introduced in the House or Senate, it is referred to two committees.  If it is passed by both committees, it proceeds to the full chamber (House or Senate) for debate and a vote by that chamber.  The Bill then goes to the other legislative body (House or Senate) where it is heard by two committees and, if passed, goes to the full chamber for debate and vote.  If a bill is passed by both chambers, it goes to the Governor for his or her signature to become law or to be vetoed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *