Death Bill, HB 171 End of Life Option, to be Heard Friday 2/17/2017

Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Please pray for the New Mexico State Legislature.  The following are today’s pray concerns and alerts.
 
Death Bill, HB 171 End of Life Option, to be Heard Friday
HB 171: End of Life Options Act
“End of Life Options” has been previously termed “Death with Dignity”, “Physician Assisted Suicide” and “Euthanasia.”  The bill would allow any health care provider in the State of New Mexico with any credential to prescribe a lethal dose of drugs to a dying patient.
The bill is to be heard in the House Judiciary Committee
Friday, February 17, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. in Room 307 or 309.
Please contact members of the committee by email, phone, letter or in-person and express your opposition to HB 171.  Urge them to vote NO on HB 171 End of Life Options.  A listing of House Judiciary Committee members appears below.
In addition Right to Life New Mexico asks that a special effort be made to contact the following Representatives and urge a NO vote on HB 171:
Representative Gail Chasey, Chair  (986-4411  gail@gailchasey.com)
Representative Deborah Armstrong  (986- 4840  deborah.armstrong@nmlegis.gov)
Representative Elizabeth Thomson  (986-4249  liz.thomson@nmlegis.gov)
Representative Joanne Ferray. (986-4336  oanne.ferrary@nmlegis.gov)
  
UPDATE:
SB 183 Partial and Late Term Abortion Bill Fails
SB 183 Partial and Late Term Abortion Bill sponsored by Senator Bill Sharer and David Gallegos failed to pass the Senate Public Affairs Committee last evening, February 14, 2017.  The vote was along party lines.

2017 NM Legislature

House Judiciary Committee

 

Last Name First Name Position Party Room Extn. Email Addr.
Chasey Gail Chair D 308 4411 gail@gailchasey.com
Martinez Javier Vice Chair D 413C 4436 javier.martinez@nmlegis.gov
Alcon Eliseo Lee Member D 314B 4425 eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov
Brown Cathrynn N. Member R 204B 4210 c.brown.nm55@gmail.com
Cook Zachary J. Member R 205A 4233 zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov
Dines Jim Member R 205B 4242 jim.dines@nmlegis.gov
Egolf Brian Member D 104 4782 brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov
Ely Daymon Member D 203DN 4336 daymon.ely@nmlegis.gov
Gentry Nate Member R 125 4757 natefornm@gmail.com
Louis Georgene Member D 312A 4327 georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov
McQueen Matthew Member D 316A 4421 matthew.mcqueen@nmlegis.gov
Nibert Greg Member R 203E 4211 greg.nibert@nmlegis.gov
Rehm William “Bill” Member R 201B 4214 bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov

 

To dial the legislator’s phone, use 986- plus the extension.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *